• Welcome MSTies!

    Hi. Welcome to Deep Ape, ancient home to reasonable amounts of Mystery Science Theater 3000-related news, reviews, and nonsense!

  • Housekeeping

    Deep Ape is not officially connected to Best Brains, Rifftrax, Cinematic Titanic, or Shout Factory and is 100% independent. The views expressed here are dumb, probably wrong, and they in no way represent the views of the aforementioned. Amen.

    If you have a claim on any audio or video posted on this blog, contact me and it will be removed. Also, if you have any tips, corrections, relevant information, or cash gifts, I encourage you to drop me a line.


    Creative Commons License

Reminder: Shout Factory’s MST3K set is out now

Yeah, I know I just posted about it a few days ago, and I realize you probably already know about it, but this is big stuff! A new MST3K set! Not made by Rhino! That doesn’t suck! So, you should buy it. Right now. Yes, quickly, go. (And I’m still broke, so enjoy it extra, for me.) This new release also means that MST’s getting some publicity.

With this publicity, comes a fair amount of, as we say on the Internet, “lulz.” I would particularly like to point and laugh at Wired.com. One of their articles touts “MST3K Vets Talk[ing] Fan Faves From New DVD Set,” suggesting an interview in which the cast discusses the contents of the set, right? I believe one answer comes close to vaguely addressing one of the movies. They also think KTMA counts as season one.

I laugh at them.

Meanwhile, Ain’t It Cool News took a break from spoiling things to interview Joel. Entertainment Weekly dug the set, even if they’re nuts for not even mentioning Laserblast. The LA Times had a nice little article on the set/series. And lastly, Satellite News spotted a random few articles. As for McClatchy Newspapers, well…

If only they knew.

Leave a comment