• Welcome MSTies!

    Hi. Welcome to Deep Ape, ancient home to reasonable amounts of Mystery Science Theater 3000-related news, reviews, and nonsense!

  • Housekeeping

    Deep Ape is not officially connected to Best Brains, Rifftrax, Cinematic Titanic, or Shout Factory and is 100% independent. The views expressed here are dumb, probably wrong, and they in no way represent the views of the aforementioned. Amen.

    If you have a claim on any audio or video posted on this blog, contact me and it will be removed. Also, if you have any tips, corrections, relevant information, or cash gifts, I encourage you to drop me a line.


    Creative Commons License

‘MST3K: The Movie’ DVD Cover Unveiled, Lame

As you can see above, the upcoming rerelease of Mystery Science Theater 3000: The Movie has finally received cover art. I use the term “art” loosely. I suppose it’s not that bad, and what were we expecting, really? But still, it looks so incredibly generic. They don’t even use the proper logo. Still, at least they made the silhouette ginormous, so your average Wal-Mart shopper can easily identify it as “that show on the TV with the guy and the reindeer puppet talking at movies.”

If, for some unknown reason, you should want to see the image in a higher resolution, or perhaps even pre-order the movie, you can do both on its Amazon page.

[via the forum; thanks, jjb3k!]

8 Responses

  1. But look at the bright side. At least we don’t have to pay 100 bucks for it on eBay anymore.

  2. Yeah that’s pretty lame. But it’s what’s inside that counts and we know that the movie itself is good.

  3. It’s clear not even Jim know exactly what is going to happen by rebranding MST3K.

  4. I’ll be pre-ordering it, but I might be inclined to replace the cover art. Cause really, what they’ve presented is embarrassing.

  5. Quasi-lame coverart… it’s cheesy though and sort of in the spirit of the series. I don’t mind so much.

    Also wanted to say that I just discovered this blog and love, love, love it. I’ve been a die-hard MSTie since late season six.

    I met Mike Nelson a few years back at a Q&A/book reading he did here in my town. I’ve been meaning to edit that video footage for a long time now. He held a movie trivia contest and I actually won it! Loads of fun.

    Wellll enough rambling. This blog rocks and I’m very glad to see fans carrying on the internet presence of the show.

    Hi-Keeba to you!!!

  6. Thank you very much for the kind words. :)

  7. The cover art’s pretty ugly, but I’ve seen uglier (i.e. the last five Rhino box sets).

    Thanks for the free DeviantArt plug, by the way!

  8. Bleh. I still wish we were getting a special edition that included the original ending, etc… But I can live with it just to have a legit copy of the movie on my DVD shelf.

Leave a comment