• Welcome MSTies!

    Hi. Welcome to Deep Ape, ancient home to reasonable amounts of Mystery Science Theater 3000-related news, reviews, and nonsense!

  • Housekeeping

    Deep Ape is not officially connected to Best Brains, Rifftrax, Cinematic Titanic, or Shout Factory and is 100% independent. The views expressed here are dumb, probably wrong, and they in no way represent the views of the aforementioned. Amen.

    If you have a claim on any audio or video posted on this blog, contact me and it will be removed. Also, if you have any tips, corrections, relevant information, or cash gifts, I encourage you to drop me a line.


    Creative Commons License

Cinematic Titanic Launch Party Reports, Announcements

UPDATE: Miss Interoceter posted her own excellent recap of the night’s festivities, on the forums. In fact, it’s so much more awesome than Satellite News’ recap, I kind of wish this post was about hers instead. Oh well. We now resume your regularly scheduled blog post.

Remember the fashionably late CT launch party scheduled for this month? Well, it went down last night. Satellite News has posted a report from one of the attendees, and it sounds like a fun night. The Brains performed stand-up, answered questions, sang the MST3K theme, and put on what sounds like a memorable night. Now, you should definitely go read the report, but some of you might look at that formidable block of text and say tl;dr. For those people, I’ll point out a couple of key points.

First of all, it was announced that way, way down the road on October 25th, the Titanic crew will be performing a live show in Minneapolis. (So, Rifftrax favors the West Coast, Cinematic Titanic favors the Midwest, and… Oh, such a lonely East Coast.) But what was more important to me personally, was the fact that they were selling Oozing Skull DVD cases. Now, of course, I’m of the mind that these should come with the $16 DVD at no extra charge, but still — this is a great sign. Bring on the cases!

I would also like to draw your attention to the fact that there is only a generic header image, up there. It sure would be nice to have an image from the launch party, wouldn’t it? Hint, hint.

5 Responses

  1. Does anyone have a picture of the official case?

    It’d be nice if they put a printable .pdf on the CT website.

  2. Head over here, to the Rifftrax forums. There’s some pictures of the case there.

  3. Woah, that is *dark*. Seriously, all the fan designs I’ve seen either patterened themselves after the white CD or went for a blue background.

    Between the black, “American Library Edition” design and the psychedellic image, it sort of reminds me of a 70s hardback on the Strange Mysteries of the Universe. :D

  4. I kind of like it. It could be a little more “poppy” (or, uh, something) but it’s tasteful, which sort of works here.

  5. Yeah, I like it too, I’m just surprised.

    I was expecting the solid white of a Final Fantasy PlayStation disc. Instead I get something that’d fit alongside my Edgar Allen Poe: Poems & Tales book. (You gotta love that stripe along the top. It’s classy.)

Leave a comment