• Welcome MSTies!

    Hi. Welcome to Deep Ape, home to gratuitous amounts of Mystery Science Theater 3000-related news, reviews, and nonsense!

  • Staff


    Matt Sanderson
    Big Boss Man | contact
  • Housekeeping

    Deep Ape is not officially connected to Best Brains, Rifftrax, Cinematic Titanic, or Shout Factory and is 100% independent. The views expressed here are dumb, probably wrong, and they in no way represent the views of the aforementioned. Amen.

    If you have a claim on any audio or video posted on this blog, contact me and it will be removed. Also, if you have any tips, corrections, relevant information, or cash gifts, I encourage you to drop me a line.


    Creative Commons License

SDCC: Film School Rejects interviews Jim and Joel

As you can see, I’ve been away for a while. Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve been in the process of moving to a new house, and Comic-Con couldn’t have come at a worse time. So, pardon me if I post a late Comic-Con article or two. (Though, fortunately, Queen Shadowrama was kind enough to do a little bit of the heavy lifting with her two excellent posts.)

Film School Rejects found time to sit down with Joel Hodgson and Jim Mallon during the con. It’s a pleasant little interview, and there’s no visible Midwestern rage or awkwardness between the two papa Brains. That is, no awkwardness apart from the awkwardness you get when you interview two quiet, unassuming Midwestern gentlemen. And Joel has some comforting words for us, re: a reunion show.

3 Responses

  1. I think Joel covered the reunion question nicely, but if you ask me, Jim was looking a little stiff when the subject came up…

  2. I think by “comforting”, you mean “ambiguous.” ;)

    Don’t mind me, I’m just a little bitter ’cause I was soooo sure they’d announce some kind of reunion thingie at Comic-Con but nooooo. I mean, whatever happened with Bill’s post on the RiffBlog a while back? “Dear Cinematic Titanic”? I was all thinking, “Oh I bet they already have something planned and Bill is getting us hyped up ’cause he does that” but then NOTHING HAPPENED and I’m increasingly feeling nothing will EVER happen and we should just be happy with RiffTrax and Cinematic Titanic each doin’ their thing because really we should be happy to have that at all. :P

  3. Very nice interview. I liked hearing them talk in detail about how the Midwest, both in location and in its culture helped the show immensely. I’ve also warmed up to Jim (talking to fans helps) and nice to see no visible tension between them. Although Queenie is right, Jim did seem a tiny bit tense when the reunion question came up. Joel’s response was nicely tempered of course. Come on Jim, no more copyright quibbling and “Who will voice Tom and Crow again?” shenanigans.

Leave a Reply

