• Welcome MSTies!

    Hi. Welcome to Deep Ape, home to gratuitous amounts of Mystery Science Theater 3000-related news and nonsense! Click the "Entries RSS" feed link above to keep up-to-date on all the latest MST3K, Rifftrax, and Cinematic Titanic news, as well as other assorted shenanigans.

  • Staff


    Matt Sanderson
    Big Boss Man | contact
  • Housekeeping

    Deep Ape is not officially connected to Best Brains, Rifftrax, or Cinematic Titanic and is 100% independent. The views expressed here are obnoxious, probably wrong, and they in no way represent the views of the aforementioned. Amen.

    If you have a claim on any audio or video posted on this blog, contact me and it will be removed. Also, if you have any tips, corrections, relevant information, or cash gifts, I encourage you to drop me a line.


    Creative Commons License

MST3K + Spore = Nightmare Fuel

As you might have heard, a demo for upcoming PC game Spore was recently released. Spore is a long-awaited “evolution sim,” I suppose you’d call it. You create your own species from the ground up, then guide them as they evolve and advance, going from a single cell to a spacefaring race.  At the moment, you can pick up the trial version of the “Creature Creator” for free here.

Why do I mention this? Well, as you can see above, I am one fabulous nerd. Yes, I made Tom Servo and Crow T. Robot in Spore. Or, rather, I tried and ended up producing freakish, ghastly creatures inspired by them. Needless to say, the possibilities are endless and quite disturbing, especially if you shell out $10 for the full version of Creature Creator, which unlocks many more parts to use. I probably could’ve done better with the full selection.

I’m not alone in my madness, either. YouTube user Connigit made his own Trumpy creature. You can also see sad, disturbing footage of my own Crow T. Robot here. Can you do better? Most likely. Download the Spore Creature Creator and give it a shot. My next Spore project? Nummy Muffin Coocol Butter. Or something shaped like genitals. I haven’t decided yet. Either way, you can keep track of them here.

UPDATE: See? I knew I sucked. A reader named Insert Coin(s) to Continue made his own, more accurate Tom and Crow. I love that Tom, particularly.

4 Responses

  1. Oh. Sweet. Merciful. God.

    Brilliantly terrifying!

  2. I created Crow and Tom, hopefully not as nightmare inducing:

  3. I am put to shame. Nice work. :)

  4. Oh god oh god oh god kill them with fire! Some things should never be portrayed with flesh. :)

    I have the Creature Creator downloaded, just waiting for a free night with the computer so I can spend a few hours playing around with it. I haven’t a clue what I’m going to do yet. I wonder if I could manage a decent Robot Monster…

Leave a Reply

