• Welcome MSTies!

    Hi. Welcome to Deep Ape, home to gratuitous amounts of Mystery Science Theater 3000-related news, reviews, and nonsense!

  • Staff


    Matt Sanderson
    Big Boss Man | contact
  • Housekeeping

    Deep Ape is not officially connected to Best Brains, Rifftrax, Cinematic Titanic, or Shout Factory and is 100% independent. The views expressed here are dumb, probably wrong, and they in no way represent the views of the aforementioned. Amen.

    If you have a claim on any audio or video posted on this blog, contact me and it will be removed. Also, if you have any tips, corrections, relevant information, or cash gifts, I encourage you to drop me a line.


    Creative Commons License

“Doomsday Machine” gets dated, also a new trailer

June 19th. That’s the date when you will finally be able to purchase the second episode of Cinematic Titanic. Doomsday Machine will be available simultaneously in both DVD and digital, burn-it-yourself form. Also, a second trailer with new footage was just released, which I embedded above.

And even more exciting, we’re getting DVD cases this time! Yes, no more shoddy, paper CD sleeves. Doomsday Machine will ship in a proper DVD case with some unimpressive but passable cover art. Heck, it could ship with a picture of Bea Arthur on it and I’d still be grateful. You can see said packaging after the cut.

Also, don’t forget that Cinematic Titanic will be performing a live riffing of The Wasp Woman on June 21st, at the Ford Amphitheatre during the LA Film Festival. Tickets are $12 and can be purchased here.

4 Responses

  1. I am extremely happy they listened to the fans and we’ll be getting a real case this time. Hopefully they’ll also start offering The Oozing Skull with cases; that’s the one thing that’s kept me from picking up my own copy. Yes, I’m that anal.

  2. Same here. (I didn’t buy the first one. My copy was given to me as a gift by Mary Jo Pehl and her husband Ron, whom I’ve become friends with.) This adds a little more value to the product. I have a hard time paying $16 for a DVD in a paper sleeve, regardless of the content.

    Also, proper Oozing Skull cases do exist. They sold some at a recent appearance. I don’t think they come with DVD orders, though.

  3. What was that little thing in the beginning? The thing where Trace is saying there aren’t using the robots anymore? Was that, dare I say it, an opening segment explaining the premise?? :-D

    Now to decide if I’m gonna go the download route or pick the physical DVD…

  4. Yeah, my money’s on a “host segment” of some sort. You can see two other people asking them questions. Probably either “fans” or “interviewers” or some other silliness.

    Oh, you know you totally want the DVD.

Leave a Reply

