• Welcome MSTies!

    Hi. Welcome to Deep Ape, home to gratuitous amounts of Mystery Science Theater 3000-related news and nonsense! Click the "Entries RSS" feed link above to keep up-to-date on all the latest MST3K, Rifftrax, and Cinematic Titanic news, as well as other assorted shenanigans.

  • Staff


    Matt Sanderson
    Big Boss Man | contact
  • Housekeeping

    Deep Ape is not officially connected to Best Brains, Rifftrax, or Cinematic Titanic and is 100% independent. The views expressed here are obnoxious, probably wrong, and they in no way represent the views of the aforementioned. Amen.

    If you have a claim on any audio or video posted on this blog, contact me and it will be removed. Also, if you have any tips, corrections, relevant information, or cash gifts, I encourage you to drop me a line.


    Creative Commons License

This Week’s New Releases: Volume 10.2, plus Awesomeness

This is really impromptu, but I think I’m going to start doing a weekly “new releases” sort of thing, when warranted. Granted, there’s not usually a lot to report, but I know I often forget release dates and such. Maybe it’ll be useful, maybe not.

Rifftrax
Jurassic Park (1993)
Mike Nelson, “Weird Al” Yankovic
DVD: $9.99 (or less), Rifftrax: $3.99

As the above image suggests, Weird Al Yankovic’s Rifftrax debut came out on Tuesday. The film is Jurassic Park (which, in the light, isn’t so frightening). You can see a sample after the cut. Judging from that sample, this could be a good one. Not so much because the sample is especially funny (it was above average) but because of Al’s sheer enthusiasm. Even when his riffs aren’t especially funny, his charisma keeps me engaged. Plus, who doesn’t love Weird Al?

Mystery Science Theater 3000
Volume 10.2
Contains: The Giant Gila Monster (Season 4), Swamp Diamonds (Season 5), Teenage Strangler (Season 5), The Giant Spider Invasion (Season 8)
DVD: $44.99 (give or take)

Also, perhaps slightly more noteworthy is the rerelease of Rhino’s Volume 10 set, under the erroneous title Volume 10.2. (It should be 10.1! You’re doing it wrong!) As you probably know, this set replaces Godzilla vs. Megalon with The Giant Gila Monster. And if that isn’t enough to draw your attention, Trace, Frank, and Joel have jumped back into character for a brand new skit, explaining the whole Godzilla/Gila Monster switcheroo. Enjoy a sample of Gila Monster after the cut.

2 Responses

  1. Nice idea! Another thing I’d love to see eventually is your top picks out of the Rifftrax released so far. I want to download a couple, and was interested in your favorites from what you’ve seen so far.

  2. I have a confession, Mx: I’ve never seen a Rifftrax all the way through. I own four feature-length Rifftrax commentaries (and a few of the shorter ones), but I’m not really in a position to get ahold of the movies themselves. (It sounds weird, but just trust me on that.) Once I have some spare change (which, these days, is never), I intend on getting into them, though.

    For the record, I own The Fifth Element, Daredevil, Glitter, and Star Trek V. The Fifth Element I did try to watch, but it was an early solo venture for Mike and, as such, really isn’t up to snuff. I hear the other three are great, though.

Leave a Reply

