• Welcome MSTies!

    Hi. Welcome to Deep Ape, home to gratuitous amounts of Mystery Science Theater 3000-related news, reviews, and nonsense!

  • Staff


    Matt Sanderson
    Big Boss Man | contact
  • Housekeeping

    Deep Ape is not officially connected to Best Brains, Rifftrax, Cinematic Titanic, or Shout Factory and is 100% independent. The views expressed here are dumb, probably wrong, and they in no way represent the views of the aforementioned. Amen.

    If you have a claim on any audio or video posted on this blog, contact me and it will be removed. Also, if you have any tips, corrections, relevant information, or cash gifts, I encourage you to drop me a line.


    Creative Commons License

Rifftrax Wants YOU! …To Riff Batman & Robin

For some time, one of the most frequently requested Rifftraxes has been 1997’s ode to manhandling quality comic book properties, Batman & Robin. Well, it’s finally being turned into a Rifftrax, but there’s a catch: You must first suffer through it sans commentary. That is, if you want Mike, Bill, and Kevin to utter riffs that you’ve written.

The guys at Riff Raff Theater recently did a commentary of their own for the first Harry Potter film, and Mike Nelson was such a fan that he proposed that they hold a riffing contest for Batman. To enter, just watch Batman & Robin an unholy number of times and write up a full script of your finely-tuned riffs. The full directions (which I suggest that you read before you start riffing) can be found here. There’s also a helpful thread here. The entries will be edited into a cohesive script by the guys at Riff Raff, and then that script will be handed off to Mike’s crew for recording.

I guess this is kind of cool but, frankly, I’m a little bothered by it. Batman & Robin is pretty much the holy grail of awful mainstream comic book adaptations, and I was hoping to see it written by the three Brains themselves. No disrespect intended towards the Rifftrax/MST fan communities, but I sure hope they’re up to the task. I’d participate myself, but the last thing I need on top of all this stress I currently have, is George Clooney’s rubber nipples. Prepare for the nightmare fuel.

The deadline is somewhere around January 6th, so get to it.

3 Responses

  1. Funny thing is, when I saw this back in the theatre my friends and I pretty much spent the entire time riffing on it.

  2. Do you know the release date for this Riff?

  3. January 29th. Thanks for the reminder. I need to post about it.

Leave a Reply

