• Welcome MSTies!

    Hi. Welcome to Deep Ape, home to gratuitous amounts of Mystery Science Theater 3000-related news and nonsense! Click the "Entries RSS" feed link above to keep up-to-date on all the latest MST3K, Rifftrax, and Cinematic Titanic news, as well as other assorted shenanigans.

  • Staff


    Matt Sanderson
    Big Boss Man | contact
  • Housekeeping

    Deep Ape is not officially connected to Best Brains, Rifftrax, or Cinematic Titanic and is 100% independent. The views expressed here are obnoxious, probably wrong, and they in no way represent the views of the aforementioned. Amen.

    If you have a claim on any audio or video posted on this blog, contact me and it will be removed. Also, if you have any tips, corrections, relevant information, or cash gifts, I encourage you to drop me a line.


    Creative Commons License

Next Rifftrax: Transformers

The next Rifftrax is Michael Bay’s most recent testosterone festival, Transformers. Accompanying that announcement is the above photoshop job, which is quite possibly the best one I’ve yet seen come out of Camp Rifftrax. Mike makes an unnervingly believable Optimus Prime. The track rolls out on November 20th.

As a life-long Transformers fanatic, I’m more than happy to see them tackle the obnoxious Bay’s work. The movie isn’t nearly as bad as its detractors claim, but it’s still a heavily flawed film that doesn’t hold up through repeat viewings. I can deal with Optimus having a mouth; the drawn-out masturbation dialogue, less so. I just hope they go easy on us Transformers fans.

3 Responses

  1. Oh, man… I’m going to love this. I loved the movie, but I do concede there are flaws that will make it eminently riffable. Will they catch how it always seems to be sunset on Earth? Or how the absolutely ludicrous plan to hide the Allspark in a crowded city?!?!?! Only to have it airlifted by the military, anyway?!!??!!?

    (I will disagree about the movie not holding up to repeat viewings, though. The entire final act was so crazily condensed that I’ve been having a lot of fun noticing stuff I didn’t catch the first time. I’ve actually had a ball during my second and third viewings on DVD. I’m not ashamed to say that I do love the movie to pieces, flaws and all.)

  2. Riffed is the only way I’d ever watch this movie again.

    Thanks for posting the release date; I don’t usually crawl the RIffTrax fora and so must’ve missed that detail. Now I know to stop holding my breath when I open their site every morning!

    And kudos to SN for preserving all their old data. I know what a pain it can be to switch site formats.

  3. You see, I don’t dislike the human characters. I actually really like the military characters, because they remind me of the Transformers’ crossovers with G.I. Joe in the ’80s. I just think that the robots didn’t get enough screentime. They were props, when they should’ve been the stars of the movie – not the humans.

    I suppose I could watch the movie again, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to do it.

Leave a Reply

