• Welcome MSTies!

    Hi. Welcome to Deep Ape, home to gratuitous amounts of Mystery Science Theater 3000-related news, reviews, and nonsense!

  • Staff


    Matt Sanderson
    Big Boss Man | contact
  • Housekeeping

    Deep Ape is not officially connected to Best Brains, Rifftrax, Cinematic Titanic, or Shout Factory and is 100% independent. The views expressed here are dumb, probably wrong, and they in no way represent the views of the aforementioned. Amen.

    If you have a claim on any audio or video posted on this blog, contact me and it will be removed. Also, if you have any tips, corrections, relevant information, or cash gifts, I encourage you to drop me a line.


    Creative Commons License

Film Crew Recap: Killers From Space

A little bit overdue, but I try to follow through on my promises. Here’s my collection of reviews of the second Film Crew release, the Peter Graves-vs.-bug-eyed-aliens thriller Killers From Space. As I said in my last recap, I’ll be focusing on the reviewers’ numerical ratings of the riffing content, since that’s the meat of the product. If they gave the packaging 2/10 because the disc wasn’t made from the ivory of a unicorn’s horn, I will not be taking it into account. There aren’t as many reviews this time, so please feel free to post links to unlisted reviews in the comments.

ComiXtreme | 3.5/5

Digitally Obsessed | A-

Blogcritics | “good but not great”

The DVD Lounge | 8/10

Film School Rejects | A

Pop Syndicate | 4/4

Sci-Fi Weekly | C+

As you can see, it’s a bit of a mixed bag, but it’s generally positive. The general public seems to still be of the opinion that, even when Mystery Science Theater is bad, it’s still pretty good. I guess that’s sometimes true. It’d be nice to see some more frank and honest reviews, though. Believe me, MST3K had some crap episodes. I haven’t seen the Film Crew’s DVDs yet. Are they worth the hype?

Leave a Reply

