• Welcome MSTies!

    Hi. Welcome to Deep Ape, home to gratuitous amounts of Mystery Science Theater 3000-related news, reviews, and nonsense!

  • Staff


    Matt Sanderson
    Big Boss Man | contact
  • Housekeeping

    Deep Ape is not officially connected to Best Brains, Rifftrax, Cinematic Titanic, or Shout Factory and is 100% independent. The views expressed here are dumb, probably wrong, and they in no way represent the views of the aforementioned. Amen.

    If you have a claim on any audio or video posted on this blog, contact me and it will be removed. Also, if you have any tips, corrections, relevant information, or cash gifts, I encourage you to drop me a line.


    Creative Commons License

Rifftrax Revamps Cuts.com

Well, look what I just found in my inbox. Rifftrax, as you may recall, purchased Cuts.com not too long ago. I haven’t really been keeping tabs on the site, but I assume that their presence hasn’t been all that noticeable – until now. It seems that Cuts has been rebranded “Rifftrax DIY” (“Do It Yourself”) with “powered by Cuts” demoted to appearing just beneath that, as you can see in the logo at right. I wonder how Cuts users feel about this takeover. Did Cuts even have users, before the Rifftrax fans moved in?

Anyway, the email also touted the fact that they’ve now taken 221 (if I counted correctly) real Rifftrax riffs from Mike, Kevin, and Bill, and added them to the Cuts video editing interface. Now, you can drag and drop them into the timeline, where appropriate, and make your own Rifftrax sort of thing. You can also mix in some old fashioned Cuts-style text captions with the audio clips.

It’s an amusing concept, and it’s fun for a while, but I ultimately found it to be more trouble than it was worth. I never actually got around to finishing the two clips I tried to start. Ultimately, I’m more comfortable writing my own riffs. Now, if they could implement a way for me to use a mic to record my own audio riffs directly into the program, then it would work for me. As it is now, it’s too much of a chore to dig through the guys’ riffs to find appropriate ones, and text riffs just don’t have the same impact, for me. It’s a nice first step – and it IS listed as a beta – but it’s still got a long way to go before it becomes something truly worthwhile.

But hey, don’t listen to me. I’m an old fuddy-duddy. I’m sure the Rifftrax-inclined will get a kick out of it. Go slap some boob jokes over top of Jessica Alba footage, you knuckleknobs.

3 Responses

  1. I agree that RiffTrax DIY has a ways to go — but I don’t have the same confidence in my wit that you do in yours, as I’d rather listen to Mike and crew’s riffs than my own anyday. I also wonder, once the DIY tool can import your own riffs, will differ from any other video editing software.

    For now, though, it’s a fun and easy way to mock and share. YMMV.

  2. My problem with using their riffs is that they’re generic riffs. And generic riffs are really not that funny, except on rare occasions. It’s much more effective and, in my opinion, enjoyable to use my own riff, written and spoken in a way that fits that specific situation. I guess if someone’s just out to mess around with something riffy, then this works. Personally, I need a little more.

    Also, you should write riffs for yourself. If you’re confident that you find something funny, then that’s all you need. That’s how I write my own riffs (linked up in the menu bar, as “FanVids”, FYI). I just write for me and, as Joel Hodgson once said, the right people will get it.

  3. Man Ol’ man! this is soo fun, it’s like watching the Packers winnin’ da Supa Bowl, Gooo Packers!!!

Leave a Reply

